View Single Post
Old 11-25-20, 06:35 PM
Zoxe

Bikes: Giant Cypress DX, Bianchi Imola, Surly Cross Check 105, Twin6 Standard TI FSU

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Originally Posted by Zoxe
I've been lurking here for a couple weeks so thought I should formally add to the Clyde post.

I'm 33 1/2 and a week ago I was 283lbs at 6'2". I have been big/chunky most of my life, except for a few growth years in my late teens. I graduated high school at 180 but was 235 when I got out of college 5 years later. I've slowly put on weight since then, and in the past when I've exercised (i.e. walking a couple miles at lunch), I'd lose 5lbs but gain 10lbs when I stopped.

Over the past year, I started noticing my health degrading FAST. Wiped out from pushmowing the lawn, or an extra flight of stairs, etc. Had a couple of false alarms that ended with me in the doc's office or the ER. (If you ever want instant attention, walk into the ER and say 'I think I'm having chest pain').

So I switched jobs ... blood pressure dropped 20 points (doctor verified) but gained 15lbs since January. Went from an 11 acre building to a small office of 3k feet in an area where it's no fun to walk outside. The stress is lower and I generally feel better but the weight is a constant worry. Have been eating better (no more fast food or soda) and got the weight to stabilize.

On a whim a few weeks ago, I got my old x-mart bike out and pumped up the tires. Mrs. Zoxe and I rode about a mile and almost died from the exertion. Have been slowly working up to our current 5.6mi route with the goal of 10mi a night, 5-6d a week.

After trashing the (already pretty tired) x-mart bike within the first week, the wife and I got a pair of Giant bikes ... Cypress DX for me and a Revive DX (pseudo-recumbant) for her. Much more comfortable for both of us, and we doubled our mileage instantly.