View Single Post
Old 03-28-21, 12:54 PM
davester

Bikes: 1981 Ron Cooper, 1974 Cinelli Speciale Corsa, 2000 Gary Fisher Sugar 1, 1986 Miyata 710, 1982 Raleigh "International"

Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked 1,357 Times in 502 Posts
I think it's highly amusing that there are such emotionally charged attachments to different pedal systems displayed in this thread. In my personal experience there are advantages and disadvantages to each system but some of those differences have been way overstated here. I've been riding pretty seriously for about 40 years, and have raced, toured, done centuries, double centuries, MTB rides, and just farting around rides. On my various road bikes I currently have either toeclips + straps or clipless. On my MTB I ran toeclips and straps for a while, switched to SPDs, and then switched again to flats with gripping pins. Back in the olden days when I was racing I used toeclips + straps + cleats.

Here's my comparison of the pros and cons of the different use cases for pedal systems: