View Single Post
Old 11-04-23, 05:40 PM
cyccommute 
Mad bike riding scientist

Bikes: Some silver ones, a red one, a black and orange one, and a few titanium ones

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6252 Post(s)
Liked 4,278 Times in 2,396 Posts
Originally Posted by Kontact
Are you on crack? Squirt is what all normal people call a "wax", in that it is a solid at room temperature. But Squirt dispenses in liquid form because the wax is suspended in a carrier that dries leaving a solid film behind.
You are tedious. I never said Squirt isn’t wax. Of course it is wax. But the wax part isn’t what “dries”, however. The carrier is the part that dries as it does in other solvent based wax. You seem to understand the difference between “solid” and dry.

And before you try to play your stupid "I'm a chemist" card
We’ll get back to this is a sec.

​​​​​​​, here's what Squirt says. So you can argue with them:
"Squirt is biodegradable and contains selected waxes performing different functions in a creamy emulsion. It runs at very low resistance (VeloNews, Hunting for Speed, pdf, Feb 2014): “Fastest drip lube we have ever tested” When applied to the chain it dries, leaving a microfilm of wax that is dry and water repelling."
And here I thought you had made so much progress. “…It dries” is referring to the carrier. And “…is dry…” is in contrast to an oil that is wet to the touch. It is still a “hard” wax.

On a side note, I doubt the “water repelling” bit. The carrier evaporates but the emulsifier is still there and any additional water is going to reactivate the emulsifier.

​​​​​​​But before you were claiming that bond was a word that only referred to chemical bonds. You aren't even consistent in your lunacy.

It is amazing that something that comes off with the "slightest pressure" provides lubrication for hundreds of miles.