View Single Post
Old 01-13-24, 06:49 PM
FBinNY 

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5872 Post(s)
Liked 2,718 Times in 1,517 Posts
Originally Posted by cat0020
Have you ever seen the manufacturing process of the batteries you speak of?
How many times have you spoken or written with battery manufacturers about their manufacturing or testing process?
Unlike you, I don't like to personalize discussions about issues. However, since you ask----- I'm a manufacturing engineer, and quality issues like this fall within my area of expertise. No, I've no direct contact with Li-ion battery makers, and the ONLY battery factory I ever visited made batteries for US submarines. But. this isn't about the details of making batteries, it's about the need to design, produce quality batteries, not prone to internal shorts or overheating. It's also about quality control to ensure that what leaves the factory meets the basic design goals. All of this is well established science, so we're not talking about anything new or unattainable. Li-ion batteries are not new, and the various standards have been in place for years. If your laptop has a removable battery, pull it out and check for a sticker which probably says CE, which is the most common certification.

As for your comment that it will raise prices --- yes, that's possible, but only at the bottom end. Better makers already produce to globally accepted standards, and don't have to change (or charge more for) anything. However, low end producers, producing low quality batteries will have to either step up, or move on.