Old 01-14-24, 01:42 AM
Duragrouch

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked 464 Times in 371 Posts
V1llage, you said earlier:
Stiffness is exactly the reason I choose grade 5 for everything. I noticed the change in the frames on the official parts and saw that as a sign more strength would be required. I'm not a mechanical engineer but I assumed that using a stronger grade of titanium and as thick as I was able to get manufactured for me would take care of that.
I am a retired M.E., so offering a little knowledge. You may be confusing material STIFFNESS with STRENGTH.

Let's says you have two pieces of steel, identical dimensions, one is "mild" low-strength steel, the other is high-strength spring steel. The mild one bends a little bit elastically, but then YIELDS (permanent deformation). The spring steel one can be bent much further without yield, because it has a higher yield strength (as well as a higher "ultimate tensile strength", i.e, the point at which is breaks/fractures). That is strength. BUT... NOTE!: Before the mild steel part yielded, when it was functioning within the ELASTIC LIMIT, its ELASTICITY/STIFFNESS was exactly the same as the higher strength steel part, in terms of force versus movement. This is the modulus of elasticity or stiffness, also known as Young's Modulus. Note: Within a given "family" of materials (like "steel", or "aluminum"), the stiffness changes very little, even as stength changes. (Some very new metal alloys have broken this rule, but let's dismiss that for now.) Steel stiffness is about 30x10^6 PSI. Aluminum is about 10x10^6 PSI, 1/3 as stiff, for the same geometry (size). Let's look at an example: