View Single Post
Old 07-30-06, 01:20 AM
flatlander_48
Cathedral City, CA

Bikes: 2016 RITCHEY BreakAway (full Chorus 11), 2005 Ritchey BreakAway (full Chorus 11, STOLEN), 2001 Gary Fisher Tassajara mountain bike (sold), 2004 Giant TRC 2 road bike (sold)

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by smellygary
Part of it is that theres not a whole lot of corporate sponsonship for sports in China.....yet. And there's still a bit of a different mentality to the bicycle in China. Its for transprotation, not fun. If you try to explain about riding a bike for fun on a hot day, or rainy or what ever, it just won't sink in. "Why don't you just take the bus instead? The idea of bicycle racing is over the top for most.

And their love affair with Yao Ming and the NBA pretty much prevents anybody from caring about any other sport right now.
I can't comment about mainland China, but I have been working in Taiwan for the past 2 1/2 years. For the vast majority of riders here, as someone mentioned, bicycles are a means of transportation. Basically the only folks you usually see on bikes are school kids or the elderly who can't afford a car or never learned to drive. People don't see cycling as a recreation and as a fitness tool. This is really odd to me as Giant, based in Taipei, is the world's largest manufacturer. Many companies source some or all of their retail items here.