Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

My geek thread

Old 06-04-14, 07:24 AM
  #1301  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
New language for osx/ios programming: https://developer.apple.com/library/...TheBasics.html

This new "Swift" language is kind of like python but with brackets - which is pretty sweet!

I'm fine with objective-c, but this will significantly lower the bar to writing iOS apps I think.
Yep, that and the family sharing announcements were the cool ones in my world.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 06-13-14, 01:38 PM
  #1302  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Man, Chrome Remote Desktop is handy as hell. I have my home machine grinding away on the swim team photo processing (exporting from LightRoom). I forgot to add the watermark to the images, and was able to use L4 remotely from my Nexus 4, add the watermark, start a new export, then upload to Smugmug. Very handy when I have to start operations that take two hours.

Awesome​.

I need to install it on my dad's and mother-in-law's machines so I can support from afar.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 06-27-14, 07:28 AM
  #1303  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
I set up a Tasker script on my phone to disable the lock screen when I'm at home or at work. Very convenient.

I can't believe I didn't think of this earlier -- there were plenty of examples out there already. Hell, it should be a core phone feature, IMO.

Last edited by waterrockets; 06-27-14 at 07:32 AM.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 07-12-14, 09:12 PM
  #1304  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Short family trip this weekend... in the hotel, I spun up a wifi hotspot on my phone, and hosted our Chromecast on it. Worked great on the hotel TV to view netflix. Cool stuff.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 07-18-14, 04:33 PM
  #1305  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am getting pulled from my current project at work to manage a different project being outsourced to a global player but they need a company PM to mange them, their costs, and the internal resources. The project is building out redundant data centers with a private cloud and replicated storage. My technical hands on background is large scale networking and infrastructure design and implementation but for this one I will be just managing. I took a look at the high level architecture diagrams today. The core of the network for both LAN and SAN is a set of eight switches that have 96 one hundred gigabit Ethernet ports each.

#motherofgod
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-18-14, 09:54 PM
  #1306  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Holy crap. Is that hooked up directly to the backbone? (L3, etc)

dayum. That's some serious hardware
waterrockets is offline  
Old 07-19-14, 06:24 AM
  #1307  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's a private cloud with lit fiber between datacenters. Internet is on the edge. This is the core. Pure insanity.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-19-14, 03:20 PM
  #1308  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Very cool to be a part of something like that.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 08-05-14, 11:37 AM
  #1309  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Neat: Norse - IPViking Live

(shows internet attacks on a map)
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 08-05-14, 12:22 PM
  #1310  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
Neat: Norse - IPViking Live

(shows internet attacks on a map)
That's pretty cool. Crazy though. Many more attacks coming from North America than I'd anticipated. I wonder what % of all attack sources this represents.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 09:46 AM
  #1311  
pan y agua
 
merlinextraligh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 31,334

Bikes: Willier Zero 7; Merlin Extralight; Calfee Dragonfly tandem, Calfee Adventure tandem; Cervelo P2; Motebecane Ti Fly 29er; Motebecanne Phantom Cross; Schwinn Paramount Track bike

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1467 Post(s)
Liked 747 Times in 385 Posts
Originally Posted by waterrockets
Short family trip this weekend... in the hotel, I spun up a wifi hotspot on my phone, and hosted our Chromecast on it. Worked great on the hotel TV to view netflix. Cool stuff.
I'm using Chromecast on the TV at our vacation home to avoid paying for cable twice.

I get local HD channels with an antenna. Netflix, and some other built in apps on the TV over the internet.

I use Chromecast to get Xfinity TV go from my home cable account over my laptop to the TV.

Unfortunately Xfinity TV Go doesn't work with the version of flash in the web browser in the TV, hence the Chromecast work around.

But I end up being able to essentially replicate my home cable channels in a second home and only pay for cable, and HBO once.
__________________
You could fall off a cliff and die.
You could get lost and die.
You could hit a tree and die.
OR YOU COULD STAY HOME AND FALL OFF THE COUCH AND DIE.
merlinextraligh is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 12:03 PM
  #1312  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,476

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3377 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
I have a 128GB USB 3.0 flash drive I am using Clonezilla to make it my main drive. So I can borrow most similar laptops and only need my USB to have "my entire PC".
Doge is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 12:35 PM
  #1313  
ride lots be safe
 
Creakyknees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I was killing time on DC Rainmaker this weekend and stumbled across this old post:

Hands on review of the Sony Ericsson Xperia Active ANT+ enabled waterproof phone | DC Rainmaker

and the bar mount:
A review of the SportyPal Sony Ericsson Xperia Active Bike Mount | DC Rainmaker

These babies are for sale unlocked on ebay for about $150... they are ant+ enabled... so has anybody tried using one as a head unit? Seems like it might be handy, even if you never activate the cell service.
Creakyknees is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 12:45 PM
  #1314  
ride lots be safe
 
Creakyknees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by waterrockets
Short family trip this weekend... in the hotel, I spun up a wifi hotspot on my phone, and hosted our Chromecast on it. Worked great on the hotel TV to view netflix. Cool stuff.
at first I thought you meant that you had found a hotel with decent wifi... but I'm sure you mean that your 4g phone was the source, right?
Creakyknees is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 12:52 PM
  #1315  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 38 Posts
Originally Posted by Creakyknees
at first I thought you meant that you had found a hotel with decent wifi... but I'm sure you mean that your 4g phone was the source, right?
Yep. I think it would be easiest to bring a router and plug into the Ethernet in the room, but fewer rooms offer wired connections these days.
waterrockets is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 01:19 PM
  #1316  
Gluteus Enormus
 
mmmdonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,245

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by waterrockets
Yep. I think it would be easiest to bring a router and plug into the Ethernet in the room, but fewer rooms offer wired connections these days.
Many travel routers support a WISP mode and can be had for $30 or less. This wireless ISP router mode is secure and much easier to configure than trying to maintain security in AP, extender or repeater mode. When I bring mine on trips I replicate the home config so all devices connect as if they were on the home network.
mmmdonuts is offline  
Old 10-13-14, 02:54 PM
  #1317  
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked 469 Times in 250 Posts
When travelling, this is a handy illustration of the best places to access the internet:

furiousferret is offline  
Old 12-08-14, 08:17 PM
  #1318  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ?
Posts: 2,300

Bikes: i may have bike(s)

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So, has anyone used automator on a mac to run a script to automatically export new garmin files into golden cheetah?
beatlebee is offline  
Old 01-20-15, 09:50 AM
  #1319  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,406

Bikes: Tsunami road bikes, Dolan DF4 track

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 102 Posts
^ I haven't. I want to import all my SRM files to GC at some point but haven't thought about it much yet.

I have a question though. I typically make all my long distance calls from my mobile (LG G2) and for some calls I need to be able to type or write. This ends up being similar to a work-from-home kind of situation, where I'm typing while on the phone.

I want to get a rock solid, good sounding handset (headset) where I can hear things clearly and my voice sounds okay to the other person on the line. I'll do wired, I tend to trust wired more, but in my very short research I can't find a consensus on what actually works. Budget is maybe $100 tops. This is for situations like I have to call the director of the park & rec of a city and I don't want to keep saying "What? COuld you repeat that? Wait, I just dropped my phone." etc. I also have a somewhat regular conference call for an event I'm working and the same goes there.

If it's somewhat portable, like I could use it while a passenger in a car, that's great, but the primary use will be at a table in the house with power outlets etc nearby.

So, any mobile phone compatible handset recommendations?

TIA
__________________
"...during the Lance years, being fit became the No. 1 thing. Totally the only thing. It’s a big part of what we do, but fitness is not the only thing. There’s skills, there’s tactics … there’s all kinds of stuff..." Tim Johnson
carpediemracing is offline  
Old 01-20-15, 10:19 AM
  #1320  
Version 7.0
 
Hermes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,154

Bikes: Too Many

Mentioned: 297 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked 2,507 Times in 1,472 Posts
FWIW, I use the standard Apple earbuds that come with the new phones. I ask my partner how I sound on it and he thinks it is great and I use it on client calls. There may be marginal gains with a real wired headset that has a mike boom and over the ear, earpiece.
Hermes is offline  
Old 01-21-15, 08:30 PM
  #1321  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,406

Bikes: Tsunami road bikes, Dolan DF4 track

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 102 Posts
Originally Posted by Hermes
FWIW, I use the standard Apple earbuds that come with the new phones. I ask my partner how I sound on it and he thinks it is great and I use it on client calls. There may be marginal gains with a real wired headset that has a mike boom and over the ear, earpiece.
That's what I'm thinking of.

Another question. I'm thinking of recording directly to hard drive, aka DVR. Any reasonable off the shelf thing available that will do BluRay 1080@60 fps? This is to review finish line camera stuff, not to watch TV. Goal is to have it immediately available instead of downloading to a hard drive and then doing frame by frame (it's painfully slow, such huge files and only USB 1 for transfer speed).
__________________
"...during the Lance years, being fit became the No. 1 thing. Totally the only thing. It’s a big part of what we do, but fitness is not the only thing. There’s skills, there’s tactics … there’s all kinds of stuff..." Tim Johnson
carpediemracing is offline  
Old 01-21-15, 10:10 PM
  #1322  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JD uses Tivos, but it's all SD. What do your cameras have for video output?
shovelhd is offline  
Old 01-22-15, 05:51 AM
  #1323  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,406

Bikes: Tsunami road bikes, Dolan DF4 track

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 102 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
JD uses Tivos, but it's all SD. What do your cameras have for video output?
I'm currently using them in 1080p@60fps which is apparently BluRay (vs the "fake" 1080@60fps which is what the Contour/etc has). I can't view on my mac using native viewers, I had to download VLC.

I peeked over his shoulder a couple times, I couldn't read a single number. I don't know how he does it.
__________________
"...during the Lance years, being fit became the No. 1 thing. Totally the only thing. It’s a big part of what we do, but fitness is not the only thing. There’s skills, there’s tactics … there’s all kinds of stuff..." Tim Johnson
carpediemracing is offline  
Old 01-22-15, 12:43 PM
  #1324  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I meant in terms of video interfaces, so that the camera can send video data to the recorder. Contours have mini USB, but that is only a file interface, not a live feed. I'm trying to figure out how you get live data into the recorder.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 01-22-15, 03:05 PM
  #1325  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,406

Bikes: Tsunami road bikes, Dolan DF4 track

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 102 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
I meant in terms of video interfaces, so that the camera can send video data to the recorder. Contours have mini USB, but that is only a file interface, not a live feed. I'm trying to figure out how you get live data into the recorder.
Oh, okay. Camera is a Sony CX-760. I'm actually not sure if any outputs are live feed outputs. It has a small HDMI out, a USB out (weird round shape), and a regular USB out (which is what I use, it would plug into a USB port on a laptop). I imagine the HDMI out would be the one to use. I have adapters to go to the full size HDMI.

Looks like the USB round thing is a USB Mini-B. I have a 2012 I think. I should buy a couple of these anyway.


What I'd like to get is the same kind of view on in an instantly accessible DVR type system on an HD screen/monitor, so being able to see numbers etc. It would make it easier to check (like go out in the road and hold up a number, then check focus from the monitor, which right now takes me a lot of trips etc).

I have an old TiVO unit, I'm sure not HD, which is what we used before, but I have to make it call in to get it to "register" and wake up for a day. I'd rather just have a DVR that's not tied in that kind of way.
__________________
"...during the Lance years, being fit became the No. 1 thing. Totally the only thing. It’s a big part of what we do, but fitness is not the only thing. There’s skills, there’s tactics … there’s all kinds of stuff..." Tim Johnson
carpediemracing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.