Old 11-11-07, 01:32 PM
indygreg
Duathlete

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My new MTB - a review and n00b thoughts

I have been a roadie for a year now. Before that I was a distance runner who decided to get into Tri's.

I decided to get a MTB for a few reasons:
1. To mix up my training
2. To do some off road tri's
3. have another bike that I could a) convert into a bad weather roadie, a family ride bike, a commute bike, etc.

This post is both a review on my new bike and my start with a MTB.

I got the Motobecane Fly 9357 http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...instocknow.htm

Now . . . I used to post a decent amount on the road bike forum here any bikesdirect post started a holy war, but I have been told this forum is a bit more neutral.

Let be clear . . . my review of the bike should be taken with a grain of salt as I have no real MTB experience. Any decent bike would probably made me very happy.

Bike is light, at least according to research of what other bikes weigh. My 18" with 210 gram pedals (bebops) weighs in at around 21.75 lbs, within reason of what they advertise. Compared to my 17lbs roadie, it first felt heavy. I am not sure I want to feel what a 26lbs bike feels like.

Day 1 I put some Conti town and country tires (in a 2.1) on it for some road use. I felt like I was riding on an ATV with tires that wide!! Due to some poor planning I went to the local trails with those tires. I went to the harder of the two Indianapolis area trails (96th street) and road the loop once. It was fun and I made it through just fine, but it was a bit nerve racking to say the least. I mean, mentally I am still on a roadie and I expect every root or rock to taco my front wheel. Those tires where heavy and slow turning and did not break well on loose leaves. No, this is not shocking - just wrong tire for this.

I had fun on day 1, but it was odd.