View Single Post
Old 04-21-08, 11:51 AM
murphstahoe

Bikes: Seven Axiom, Gary Fisher Sugar, Lemond Buenos Aires, Ritchey Breakaway

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I spend the weekends in Sonoma County, and commute from Healdsburg to Sunnyvale where I work on Monday AM. I've been doing this for about 5 months, almost every Monday AM.

First leg - SCT Bus #60 Healdsburg to Santa Rosa, 5:10 AM. For 4 months this bus always had the exact same 4 people on it, a toothless biker guy, old Asian nurse lady, me, and Sam The Driver. The last 2 weeks we have 2 new riders.

Second Leg - Golden Gate Transit 72 from Santa Rosa to San Francisco, 5:48 AM. This bus is pretty nice, nice seats, lights, and an under the bus bike rack that slides out from under the bus and locks. $8.40 one way, $6.75 if you have Translink, which is a good deal given 60 miles of driving and a $5 Bridge toll. 5 months ago, when I first boarded this bus, I thought it was pretty cool that a BUS was 50% full mostly with SF Financial district workers, people working on laptops and the like. This morning there were exactly THREE seats empty. One problem - there is only room for 2 bikes, this morning for the first time there was a second biker, my commute could be in jeopardy of a bumping situation.

Third Leg - Caltrain from SF to Sunnyvale, 7:44 AM Caltrain ridership is at an alltime record as of February and continues to climb. Bike car full (32) per usual. I met my buddy and we racked our bikes. Back in the day we could find an empty 2 seat to sit together, or 2 singles near each other, in the bike car. No dice. Go to the next car. Packed. Back to the bike car to share 2 seaters across the aisle from each other with other riders.