Old 01-05-09, 10:48 AM
alanf

Bikes: Devinci Millenium, Gary Fisher Joshua

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 13 Posts
Originally Posted by vantassell
What happens when you accidental swallow some air when you're eating? does that go up to your brain too? or do you burp it out?

I hate it when i get little bubbles of carbon dioxide in my blood too, it causes me a lot of problems...until i breathe out.
Good point! I am with you and that's why I said it was a theory.

The CO2 and O2 that is in your blood from normal respiration and use by the body, is transferred by a chemical reaction in your lungs where the blood picks it up through I believe osmosis and chemical bonding between the iron in the blood, etc. (been awhile since I studied this stuff) So it's presence in the blood is in a very small state, as it is attached through a chemical bonding in an appropriate amount to the erythrocytes (blood cells that transport oxygen)

However my theory is that the carbonated water makes it's way through the gastointestinal tract and at some point it is picked up or transferred into the blood when the blood assumes that it is a liquid or water only and once in the blood stream, something happens that brings the CO2 out of the solution and as you see when a bubble forms on a soft drink after the top is removed, the bubbles start to come out of solution depending on whatever forces kept it there in the first place.

You'll notice that the bubbles in a glass of soft drink do not come out all at once, they come out slowly and it takes quite awhile for the last ones to bubble out of the glass, and if you shake it when it seems to be flat, you'll get more bubbles.