Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Unplugged

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-15, 07:24 AM
Its only pain

Bikes: '18 Salsa Marrakesh, '14 Salsa Colossal, '89 GT Timberline

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Unplugged

I stopped wearing my heart rate monitor a couple weeks back. Enjoying my rides has become a little easier not checking to see if I am "in the right zone" on every hill and flat. I consider myself a "recreational rider." Not sure if I'll go back to wearing it next year. I am not training to race or anything, just riding for fitness and recreation.

After growing up riding a bike everywhere until I got my first car at 18, I resumed cycling in '03 because I had ballooned to 235#. (I graduated high school at less than 165#) I am now holding fast around 190#, give or take a couple. So now, I am just enjoying the ride!
Old 09-30-15, 08:44 AM
feros ferio

Bikes: 1959 Capo Modell Campagnolo; 1960 Capo Sieger (2); 1962 Carlton Franco Suisse; 1970 Peugeot UO-8; 1982 Bianchi Campione d'Italia; 1988 Schwinn Project KOM-10;

Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked 1,324 Times in 836 Posts
You will probably do just as well without the monitor. Before we had all of the technology toys, we used the "conversation test" -- push yourself to the point at which you are just barely able to hold a conversation with someone. If you are breathing so hard you can't talk, you have broken into the anaerobic zone.

Congratulations on the weight loss, which has probably added a few years to your life. You are more than halfway back toward your high school weight.
Peugeot: 1970 UO-8, S/N 0010468
Bianchi: 1982 Campione d'Italia, S/N 1.M9914
Schwinn: 1988 Project KOM-10, S/N F804069
Old 09-30-15, 08:44 AM