Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Acid Reflux and aloe vera

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-05, 02:52 PM

Bikes: Cervelo Prodigy

Liked 88 Times in 68 Posts

I'm posting this here and not in the training and nutrition thread. I checked out acid reflux but I didn't find my remedy: aloe vera juice.

I have been using aloe vera juice for a few years and it seems to help. I drink a few ounces just before bedtime. Do any of you use this? If so, I am interested in the different brands. I go to a health food store and use "Lilly of the Desert" brand. Its expensive but does not taste watered down like some other brands.
Old 12-09-05, 08:14 PM

Bikes: Primary ride now a LOOK 585-Love it.

Liked 55 Times in 40 Posts
I have no experience with Aloe but OTC Prilosec works great for me...even when I break the tablet in two. That saves a lot of money over the course of a year.
Old 12-09-05, 08:33 PM

Bikes: Croll 531c/Campagnolo and Schwinn City Bike

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
FWIW, my remedy for years has been Bragg's raw unfiltered apple cider vinegar, with the "mother". I use about a teaspoon or two in 6-8 oz. of water. This is a "live" vinegar. It's actually still living and breathing.

Paul Bragg (founder) was the influence behind Jack Lalanne. Jack was a pretty sick kid when he visited one of Pauls health revivals that traveled around the country. Paul took Jack under his wing, and the rest is history (still unfolding). Paul was one the originators of the natural health lifestyle. He died at the age of 90 . . . while participating in a surfing championship off the coast of Hawaii.
Old 12-09-05, 09:17 PM
OM boy

Bikes: a bunch

Liked 769 Times in 505 Posts
Originally Posted by oldcrank