Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

What's Up With This Stem?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-09, 10:01 AM

Bikes: 2013 Trek Domane

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts

I just purchased this bike from Craigslist. I am fairly new to road bikes & have never seen this angle of stem before. I am interested in replacing it with original Trek geometry, which is supposedly 17 degree, 31.8 mm. There are 2 spacers. What am I getting myself into? Any problems I should know about?

I am upgrading from a stock 2003 Trek 1000 w/ Sora STI to this 2007 Trek 1600 w/ 105/Ultegra. I plan on changing the stem, saddle & pedals.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_4781.JPG (70.5 KB, 71 views)
IMG_4782.JPG (53.4 KB, 58 views)
IMG_4784.JPG (63.7 KB, 41 views)
1600_white.jpg (32.9 KB, 18 views)
Old 06-17-09, 10:09 AM

Bikes: 2009 Fuji Roubaix RC; 2011 Fuji Cross 2.0; '92 Diamond Back Ascent EX

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Stems are easy. I was a bit intimidated the first time I started to mess with threadless but once you see how it all comes together (preloading with the top cap), it isn't a problem. Spacers can go above or below the stem and, depending on the clamp height, you may need more, less or different width spacers (easy to get at the LBS). There are 4 measurements on threadless stems: steerer clamp size, bar clamp size, angle and length. Steerer and bar clamps need to match what you have, angle and length are up to you. Go for it (and that's a nice looking bike).
Old 06-17-09, 10:18 AM
Let's do a Century

Bikes: Cervelo R3 Disc, Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Lynskey GR260 Ultegra

Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked 879 Times in 408 Posts