Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Need some serious feedback please

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-09, 07:12 AM

Bikes: Treks 7300

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Need some help please. I’m fairly new to cycling and am not sure what to expect from myself or how to get the most out of myself. I have been hanging out here hoping to derive this information from the group but I guess I’m too dense and just not seeing it plainly stated so I’ll throw out my questions and see what comes back.

First let me give you some parameters.

1) 60 year old male, 230 lbs. Quit smoking 2.5 yrs ago and generally in good health.

2) Started riding an “old” big-box-store mountain bike last summer. Did not ride between last Oct & this past May but ran ½ hour on a treadmill 4 nights a week during the off season. Bought a Trek 7300 (hybrid) this June and have ridden 478 miles so far this season.

3) Try to ride 4 times per week. Rides generally are between 15 – 20 miles at an average speed of about 12.5 MPH. Rides are in Delaware which is generally pretty flat.

My problem is that I keep reading how people are riding 30, 40, 50, 100 miles and averaging upwards of 17 mph or better. A lot of the rides are no less in what I would consider mountainous areas. I’m like “What’s my problem?”. Why am I not beating my 12.5 MPH average and why is a 20 mile ride killing me?

Toward all this I have a few questions and am open to any words of wisdom to answer them.