Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Mountain Biking (https://www.bikeforums.net/mountain-biking/)
-   -   IS this a scam? (https://www.bikeforums.net/mountain-biking/364900-scam.html)

Cyclist30907654 11-24-07 04:06 PM

IS this a scam?
 
http://www.abbikes.com/specialized.html

Maelstrom 11-24-07 04:22 PM

Nope...Ifs thats used, the price is actually a little high. MSRP is only 2200.

Cyclist30907654 11-24-07 04:25 PM

They say that they're brand new. And it's not only that bike. Scroll down to see more amazing prices...

DickyJ 11-24-07 04:35 PM

Seems ok, but a little alarm bell rang when I read the 'Bank wire transfer only for international customers' bit.
Maybe just an anti card fraud thing.
Full spec S-Works hardtail for a couple of quid more than the price of the frame alone... Too good to be true?
($2600 = £1264) Frame costs £1200 fyi.

kenhill3 11-24-07 04:35 PM

I'm thinking scam.

I've seen too many ebay scams originating in Spain to believe this is legitimate. How on earth could ANYONE carry ALL those brands?

DickyJ 11-24-07 04:37 PM

Someone buy something so I can start saving up

kenhill3 11-24-07 04:50 PM

No phone numbers.

The page loads very weird.

I could be wrong, I thought that Specialized did not allow online sales.

prschaa 11-24-07 04:53 PM


Originally Posted by Pete Fagerlin (Post 5685665)
Claims to have been in business ten years, domain name registered 10/30/2007.

Only accepts wire transfers for international orders.

Prices sound too good to be true.

They're obviously legit...

Hey Pete, are you the same Pete with the red 996 TT, that I think I sent my OEM shifter to you a few years back?

Cyclist0383 11-24-07 04:58 PM

A Spanish site with prices in dollars? That's a big red flag.

kenhill3 11-24-07 04:59 PM

Morgans or Bradford, just make sure to give them the correct information, like your credit card number.

prschaa 11-24-07 05:01 PM

Looking at the Madone, they seem to be the 2007 models, they have a Calif. shipping address. Would be nice to know if they are legit. Contacting TRUSTe would be a start, they are touting their seal of approval.

prschaa 11-24-07 05:02 PM

That's me, small Internet indeed. Glad to see you're alive and well

kenhill3 11-24-07 05:09 PM

MTBR forum:http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.ph...highlight=scam

The exact same copy on the Morgan's Cycling was on some other place claiming to be in Helena, Montana.

TOTAL SCAM.

Covered their tracks, though:http://whois.domaintools.com/morgansbikes.com


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.