Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

IS this a scam?

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

IS this a scam?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 11-24-07 | 04:06 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
Banned.
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,568
Likes: 0
IS this a scam?

https://www.abbikes.com/specialized.html
Cyclist30907654 is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:22 PM
  #2  
Maelstrom's Avatar
Wood Licker
Titanium Club Membership
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 16,966
Likes: 2
From: Whistler,BC

Bikes: Trek Fuel EX 8 27.5 +, 2002 Transition Dirtbag, Kona Roast 2002

Nope...Ifs thats used, the price is actually a little high. MSRP is only 2200.
Maelstrom is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:25 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
Banned.
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,568
Likes: 0
They say that they're brand new. And it's not only that bike. Scroll down to see more amazing prices...
Cyclist30907654 is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:35 PM
  #4  
DickyJ's Avatar
Sucks at loife
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 380
Likes: 0
From: Lundun Tahn
Seems ok, but a little alarm bell rang when I read the 'Bank wire transfer only for international customers' bit.
Maybe just an anti card fraud thing.
Full spec S-Works hardtail for a couple of quid more than the price of the frame alone... Too good to be true?
($2600 = £1264) Frame costs £1200 fyi.
DickyJ is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:35 PM
  #5  
kenhill3's Avatar
use your best eye
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,050
Likes: 1
From: Olympia, Washington

Bikes: '75 Bertin, '93 Parkpre Team 925, '04 Kona King Kikapu, '05 Bianchi Vigorelli

I'm thinking scam.

I've seen too many ebay scams originating in Spain to believe this is legitimate. How on earth could ANYONE carry ALL those brands?
__________________
"I tell you, We are here on earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you any different." - Kurt Vonnegut jr.
kenhill3 is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:37 PM
  #6  
DickyJ's Avatar
Sucks at loife
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 380
Likes: 0
From: Lundun Tahn
Someone buy something so I can start saving up
DickyJ is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:50 PM
  #7  
kenhill3's Avatar
use your best eye
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,050
Likes: 1
From: Olympia, Washington

Bikes: '75 Bertin, '93 Parkpre Team 925, '04 Kona King Kikapu, '05 Bianchi Vigorelli

No phone numbers.

The page loads very weird.

I could be wrong, I thought that Specialized did not allow online sales.
__________________
"I tell you, We are here on earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you any different." - Kurt Vonnegut jr.
kenhill3 is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:53 PM
  #8  
prschaa's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Originally Posted by Pete Fagerlin
Claims to have been in business ten years, domain name registered 10/30/2007.

Only accepts wire transfers for international orders.

Prices sound too good to be true.

They're obviously legit...
Hey Pete, are you the same Pete with the red 996 TT, that I think I sent my OEM shifter to you a few years back?
prschaa is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:58 PM
  #9  
Banned
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 10,082
Likes: 1
A Spanish site with prices in dollars? That's a big red flag.
Cyclist0383 is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 04:59 PM
  #10  
kenhill3's Avatar
use your best eye
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,050
Likes: 1
From: Olympia, Washington

Bikes: '75 Bertin, '93 Parkpre Team 925, '04 Kona King Kikapu, '05 Bianchi Vigorelli

Morgans or Bradford, just make sure to give them the correct information, like your credit card number.
__________________
"I tell you, We are here on earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you any different." - Kurt Vonnegut jr.
kenhill3 is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 05:01 PM
  #11  
prschaa's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Looking at the Madone, they seem to be the 2007 models, they have a Calif. shipping address. Would be nice to know if they are legit. Contacting TRUSTe would be a start, they are touting their seal of approval.
prschaa is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 05:02 PM
  #12  
prschaa's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
That's me, small Internet indeed. Glad to see you're alive and well
prschaa is offline  
Reply
Old 11-24-07 | 05:09 PM
  #13  
kenhill3's Avatar
use your best eye
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,050
Likes: 1
From: Olympia, Washington

Bikes: '75 Bertin, '93 Parkpre Team 925, '04 Kona King Kikapu, '05 Bianchi Vigorelli

MTBR forum:https://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.ph...highlight=scam

The exact same copy on the Morgan's Cycling was on some other place claiming to be in Helena, Montana.

TOTAL SCAM.

Covered their tracks, though:https://whois.domaintools.com/morgansbikes.com
__________________
"I tell you, We are here on earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you any different." - Kurt Vonnegut jr.

Last edited by kenhill3; 11-24-07 at 05:17 PM.
kenhill3 is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.