Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Hydration

Old 09-25-13, 06:20 PM

Bikes: Trek

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hydration

Here in Alabama, from around April until sometime in October, it is usually hot and humid even in the early morning hours. I am using a Camelbak hydration system and, in a 2.5 hour ride, I pretty well drain it.

The question is; What are you more experienced riders using?

I'm new to all of this as for as bicycles go. For liquid, I'm using water with lemon added. It seems to taste better and quench my thirst better. Any better suggestions?

I'm not too big on water bottles although I do have a rack for one on my bike.

My son the Sergeant (he now holds the rank I retired at) has repeatedly cautioned me about not taking on enough liquid. The Camelbak holds about 1.5 liters.
Old 09-25-13, 07:50 PM
just keep riding

Bikes: 2018 Black Mountain Cycles MCD,2017 Advocate Cycles Seldom Seen Drop Bar, 2017 Niner Jet 9 Alloy, 2015 Zukas custom road, 2003 KHS Milano Tandem, 1986 Nishiki Cadence rigid MTB, 1980ish Fuji S-12S

Liked 33 Times in 22 Posts
Two 22 oz. bottles with water and sometimes a fizzy electrolyte tablet or two in each bottle usually holds me for a couple of hours. I only use a Camelbak on the road if I expect to go further than that without a chance to stop and refill the bottles, which is a rare occurrence.
Old 09-26-13, 07:19 AM

Bikes: 2015 Giant Roam 2 Hybrid

Liked 6 Times in 4 Posts
2 One Liter bottles and on long rides, but it's not enough. I try and plan a route that will take me near a service station, stores, etc. where I can get refills. This summer I ventured a bit too far out on rural roads and had to stop and beg for water twice. Two ladies were nice enough to help, one sicced the dog on me.
Old 09-26-13, 07:32 AM
Lance Legweak

Bikes: Felt Z-70, GT RTS-2

Liked 20 Times in 16 Posts