Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

This has to be a scam

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

This has to be a scam

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 05-31-07 | 07:43 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
This has to be a scam

Check out:
https://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...link:middle:us

The non-ebay email thing is one thing but if you look at the items sold in the past and then the list now for sale it is crazy... this account went from selling a few used books and stuff to selling only super high end bikes computers cameras etc....

I tried to report this to ebay but got in a loop with their security...
rob999 is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 07:52 AM
  #2  
sweetnsourbkr's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 946
Likes: 1
From: San Leandro, CA

Bikes: Look 585, Co-Motion Periscope 700

Maybe he's a Liberatarian.
sweetnsourbkr is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 07:56 AM
  #3  
Walter's Avatar
SLJ 6/8/65-5/2/07
Sheldon Brown Memorial - Titanium
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,398
Likes: 20
From: SE Florida, USA aka the Treasure Coast
$2.75 shipping? Hasn't changed his rates since he was selling books apparently. Does look very fishy and that'sprobably why it has only 1 bid with 13 hours left. He does take PayPal though.

I doubt it but someone migh snag a deal. More likely is that someone will lose a few hundred bucks.


__________________
“Life is not one damned thing after another. Life is one damned thing over and over.”
Edna St. Vincent Millay
Walter is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 07:56 AM
  #4  
Master of the Obvious
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
From: Muncie, Indiana

Bikes: Fuji

Originally Posted by rob999
Check out:
https://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...link:middle:us

The non-ebay email thing is one thing but if you look at the items sold in the past and then the list now for sale it is crazy... this account went from selling a few used books and stuff to selling only super high end bikes computers cameras etc....

I tried to report this to ebay but got in a loop with their security...
This looks like a SCAM...easiest way to alert someone is to use ask a seller a questions feature. This looks like a hijacked e-bay account (that is why the seller says that he does not wan't to be contacted on the e-bay account e-mail). Send an e-mail using ask a seller a question feature and that will alert the real e-bay account owner that his account has been jacked....
group105 is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 08:03 AM
  #5  
Walter's Avatar
SLJ 6/8/65-5/2/07
Sheldon Brown Memorial - Titanium
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,398
Likes: 20
From: SE Florida, USA aka the Treasure Coast
Originally Posted by Group105
Send an e-mail using ask a seller a question feature and that will alert the real e-bay account owner that his account has been jacked....
Just did that. We'll see what happens......
__________________
“Life is not one damned thing after another. Life is one damned thing over and over.”
Edna St. Vincent Millay
Walter is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 08:07 AM
  #6  
aham23's Avatar
grilled cheesus
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,957
Likes: 5
From: 8675309

Bikes: 2010 CAAD9 Custom, 06 Giant TCR C2 & 05 Specialized Hardrock Sport

total scam. later.
__________________
aham23 is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 08:11 AM
  #7  
Cat WTF
 
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,296
Likes: 0
One would think that if they were legitimately putting all these items up for bid, they would "update" their ebay mail prior to doing so.

Total scam.

I googled the email address and come to this page
https://nekkidtruth.blogspot.com/
cat4ever is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 08:55 AM
  #8  
aadhils's Avatar
Bike Junkie
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,625
Likes: 14
From: Santa Clara, CA

Bikes: 2013 Orange Brompton M3L; 2006 Milwaukee Bicycle Co. Fixie (Eddy Orange); 2022 Surly Cross Check, Black

Originally Posted by cat4ever
One would think that if they were legitimately putting all these items up for bid, they would "update" their ebay mail prior to doing so.

Total scam.

I googled the email address and come to this page
https://nekkidtruth.blogspot.com/
This is better: https://nekkidtruth.blogspot.com/2007...dresses-t.html
aadhils is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 08:58 AM
  #9  
FIVE ONE SIX's Avatar
SpIn SpIn SuGaR!
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 1
From: Long Island, NY
Originally Posted by cat4ever
I googled the email address and come to this page
https://nekkidtruth.blogspot.com/
the funny thing is that website, https://nekkidtruth.blogspot.com, is actually about all types of scams and scammers on eBay. maybe they did it to prove a point...
FIVE ONE SIX is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 09:07 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 6,900
Likes: 0
To the tune of Monty Pythons spam song: Scam, scam, scam, scam, scam .................
oilman_15106 is offline  
Reply
Old 05-31-07 | 10:45 AM
  #11  
Should be out Riding
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,902
Likes: 2
From: Blacksburg, VA

Bikes: Bob Jackson Vigorelli

It has been taken down.
lvleph is offline  
Reply
Old 06-02-07 | 09:58 AM
  #12  
Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
it's back:
https://cgi.ebay.com/2006-Cannondale-...QQcmdZViewItem
rob999 is offline  
Reply
Old 06-02-07 | 10:55 AM
  #13  
Master of the Obvious
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
From: Muncie, Indiana

Bikes: Fuji

Originally Posted by rob999

I contacted the new "seller" and told them their account is jacked.
group105 is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.