Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 10-06-15, 09:24 PM
  #2651  
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked 469 Times in 250 Posts
DC Rainmaker's power meter buyer's guide is out:

The Power Meters Buyer?s Guide?2015 Edition | DC Rainmaker

Also, I found this interesting....those Zipp's are awesome but too many watts and you'd go into low gravity. How is it faster than last year? More dimples! All about them dimples.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUdC3mrHcc8
furiousferret is offline  
Old 10-06-15, 09:48 PM
  #2652  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by furiousferret
Also, I found this interesting....those Zipp's are awesome but too many watts and you'd go into low gravity. How is it faster than last year? More dimples! All about them dimples.
they say they changed the shape of the rims. they also redesigned the hubs. both reduce drag (if you believe Zipp). obviously not much is known yet by anyone other than those at Zipp.
tetonrider is offline  
Old 10-07-15, 09:43 AM
  #2653  
fuggitivo solitario
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 9,107
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
both are somehow rather irksome

Originally Posted by furiousferret
DC Rainmaker's power meter buyer's guide is out:

The Power Meters Buyer?s Guide?2015 Edition | DC Rainmaker
everything is based on price and price alone with no mention of historical issues when it comes to reliability. i especially like how he dismisses the more mature products out there (Quarq, SRM, and Pioneer) and also calls the "gold standard" label undeserved.
Also, I found this interesting....those Zipp's are awesome but too many watts and you'd go into low gravity. How is it faster than last year? More dimples! All about them dimples.

eta: i take back the point in the second one a bit as it could have been incredibly windy, in which case savings at >10degree yaw becomes significant. However, still irresponsible not to include the testing conditions, etc.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUdC3mrHcc8
those pseudo-scientific speed tests are quite misleading. 9% (380 to 345) in savings due to wheels alone at 41kph when wheels usually save ~18W at 30 mph (and more like 13W at 41 kph)? I'm calling BS here

Last edited by echappist; 10-07-15 at 11:17 AM.
echappist is offline  
Old 10-07-15, 11:35 AM
  #2654  
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked 469 Times in 250 Posts
Originally Posted by echappist
both are somehow rather irksome


everything is based on price and price alone with no mention of historical issues when it comes to reliability. i especially like how he dismisses the more mature products out there (Quarq, SRM, and Pioneer) and also calls the "gold standard" label undeserved.


those pseudo-scientific speed tests are quite misleading. 9% (380 to 345) in savings due to wheels alone at 41kph when wheels usually save ~18W at 30 mph (and more like 13W at 41 kph)? I'm calling BS here
I agree on the second one, and to an extent on the first. I do think he doesn't put enough weight into historical reliability. SRM is a good product, but its also 3x more in cost than Power2Max; in the past that has been his big issue. With no L/R its a no go for me.

Most Powermeter users live in the bubble of the product they own, and he's one of the few people that can critique a product with no bias (keyword is 'can'). He probably takes more value in the new and shiny products, but I do think he was fair with Quarq and Pioneer.
furiousferret is offline  
Old 10-07-15, 01:20 PM
  #2655  
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,563
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked 670 Times in 424 Posts
I stopped paying attention to his PM reviews awhile ago.

SRMs may be expensive, but I've had mine for over a year now and have not had to send it in to be repaired once. At this point in my Quarq ownership, I was on my third one. My PowerTap hub also was extremely reliable, lasting a full five years before the torque tube went on me.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 10-12-15, 07:47 AM
  #2656  
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,916

Bikes: Affirmative

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 878 Post(s)
Liked 538 Times in 236 Posts
My bike's rear shifter ate a cable head yesterday so I finished the second half of the ride on a very tiny, very nice Specialized Tarmac. Even though it didn't fit I could tell that if it did it would feel way better than my current bike, which means it's pretty much inevitable that the n+1 formula will apply sometime this fall.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 10-12-15, 10:23 PM
  #2657  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
How do I get my garmin 520 to auto-upload to Garmin Connect after I save the ride?

Currently I have to navigate into the ride (on the 520), find the "Upload Ride" button and click it. Can't it just auto-upload as soon as I save it?

I googled it and got nothing helpful.
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 10-12-15, 10:43 PM
  #2658  
Senior Member
 
hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
How do I get my garmin 520 to auto-upload to Garmin Connect after I save the ride?

Currently I have to navigate into the ride (on the 520), find the "Upload Ride" button and click it. Can't it just auto-upload as soon as I save it?

I googled it and got nothing helpful.
I just started doing this with my 510. Sometimes I have to open and close the Garmin Connect app once or twice before it syncs.
hack is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 05:34 AM
  #2659  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by mattm
How do I get my garmin 520 to auto-upload to Garmin Connect after I save the ride?

Currently I have to navigate into the ride (on the 520), find the "Upload Ride" button and click it. Can't it just auto-upload as soon as I save it?

I googled it and got nothing helpful.

There's a setting in the Garmin Connect app, devices / Garmin XXX / device settings / auto upload. Do you have that enabled?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 06:32 AM
  #2660  
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked 469 Times in 250 Posts
@mattm, you have to enable bluetooth and it uses the phone connection to upload.

I stopped doing it because with all my commutes I'm just clogging everyone else's feed.
furiousferret is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 06:55 AM
  #2661  
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,208

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked 58 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by furiousferret
@mattm, you have to enable bluetooth and it uses the phone connection to upload.

I stopped doing it because with all my commutes I'm just clogging everyone else's feed.
But if its not on Strava it didn't happen!
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 10:39 AM
  #2662  
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
underneath my worn-out s-works toupe saddle (after 25k miles, the "leather" had worn through and was rough/wearing my bibs) was this perfectly good, glossy, smooth, 99g carbon saddle. it took a couple hours of labor and some adhesive remover at the end, but saved me $300.

Ygduf is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 10:40 AM
  #2663  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
There's a setting in the Garmin Connect app, devices / Garmin XXX / device settings / auto upload. Do you have that enabled?
Duh that was it, thx man!
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 10:40 AM
  #2664  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by furiousferret
@mattm, you have to enable bluetooth and it uses the phone connection to upload.

I stopped doing it because with all my commutes I'm just clogging everyone else's feed.
I'll kudo your commutes, as long as they're over 9.9 miles! (@ygduf's don't cut it)
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 10:56 AM
  #2665  
Senior Member
 
hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
I'll kudo your commutes, as long as they're over 9.9 miles! (@ygduf's don't cut it)
Is that the cutoff?? My commute is like 10.1 miles. I'll have to upload these for the kudos.
hack is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 11:07 AM
  #2666  
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
what my commutes lack in length they more than make up for in frequency and danger.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 11:28 AM
  #2667  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf
what my commutes lack in length they more than make up for in frequency and danger.
Your 4.1 mile commute gets more kudos than when I won a race!! /jealous
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 11:37 AM
  #2668  
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked 469 Times in 250 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
I'll kudo your commutes, as long as they're over 9.9 miles! @Ygduf's don't cut it)
Awesome 11.5 miles!

I've done @Ygduf's commute, sketchy area.
furiousferret is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 11:52 AM
  #2669  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So I got into a little scrum at the start of my cross race Sunday and lost a spoke in my front wheel. Unfortunately, the whole nipple pulled through the rim. It's a low profile Vision TC24. Can a carbon rim be repaired? Anyone ever have it done? I sent an email to Ruckus Composites in Portland yesterday but have not heard back yet.
Andy STi is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 01:22 PM
  #2670  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
so...pretty sure I just realized why i can't get the seatpost on my cross bike to stay put. i recently switched from using the cable stop that's on the frame for the rear brake to one of the problem solver units (Problem Solvers Rear Cable Hanger w/ Angle Adjuster) as the stop on my frame was too close to the wheel to get my brakes adjusted correctly.

but, i think due to the design of that hanger it's preventing the collar from putting sufficient torque on the seatpost.

current plan is to find a collar where the two ends of the circle don't actually touch so that the hanger doesn't interfere. i think the one from the road bike will work, but right now i'm at work and just speculating. alternatively if that doesn't work, i think i can make something work with a salsa post lock

Last edited by mike868y; 10-13-15 at 03:21 PM.
mike868y is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 01:28 PM
  #2671  
Senior Member
 
hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Andy STi
So I got into a little scrum at the start of my cross race Sunday and lost a spoke in my front wheel. Unfortunately, the whole nipple pulled through the rim. It's a low profile Vision TC24. Can a carbon rim be repaired? Anyone ever have it done? I sent an email to Ruckus Composites in Portland yesterday but have not heard back yet.
From what i recall (a teammate went through it earlier this year), most repair places will do rim work as long as it isn't on the brake track. So, there is hope...
hack is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 02:04 PM
  #2672  
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,208

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked 58 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf
what my commutes lack in length they more than make up for in frequency and danger.

So is that what they are calling it these days? Commutes?
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 03:04 PM
  #2673  
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Wylde06
So is that what they are calling it these days? Commutes?
well, it's dark, action packed and prone to accidents...
Ygduf is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 05:49 PM
  #2674  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf
underneath my worn-out s-works toupe saddle (after 25k miles, the "leather" had worn through and was rough/wearing my bibs) was this perfectly good, glossy, smooth, 99g carbon saddle. it took a couple hours of labor and some adhesive remover at the end, but saved me $300.
You realize that S-Works products are guaranteed for life, don't you?

I guess naked carbon is more pro.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 10-13-15, 08:19 PM
  #2675  
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
You realize that S-Works products are guaranteed for life, don't you?

I guess naked carbon is more pro.
I feel weird trying to use that warranty on a saddle that I've been using for years, and I prefer the carbon anyway. Not because it's lighter or "more pro" but because it's more slippery so the movement is between my bibs and the saddle, and it's not pulling bibs across skin.

if they sold them that way I'd buy them that way. I tried one of those ebay knock offs but the saddle cracked after ~1000 miles. not exactly the same quality.
Ygduf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.