Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Peru

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-16, 06:29 PM

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac Sport

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Peru

Hey all! First time post here, my apologies if this thread was started in the wrong area of the site!

I'm in the early stages of planning a 3 day ride in Peru in May or June of 2017. To date, the only touring I have done is RAGBRAI in 2012, 2015 and I'm about to hit my 3rd ride in a few weeks - each time we have a sag wagon to store all of our ****. So to say I'm a total noob in the world of touring would be a pretty big understatement. I enjoy the **** out of it but I've got a lot to learn.

I wanted to layout what I have planned for this ride...

*Ride Stats
Total Miles: 240
Total Climb: 9,700 feet
Max Elevation: 14,300
Min Elevation: 10,100 feet

*Gear (work in progress)
Touring Bike
Tent
Sleeping Bag
Front and Rear Panniers
Stove (maybe?)
Camelbak
Water
Food
Tools and spare parts
Standard camping **** (duct tape, blade, etc, etc, etc)

*Itinerary
1. Fly into Cusco on a Wednesday.
2. Chill for 48-72 hours to check out the town, visit Macchu Picchu, and most importantly, give my body some time to adjust to the 13,000 feet of elevation.
3. Ride approx 60-70 miles on day 1 along highway 3S. Likely camp around the lake or rivers near the town of Checacupe, Peru
4. Ride approx 70-80 miles on day 2 along highway 3S. Stop in the larger town of Sicuana along the way to replenish food and water. Camp somewhere around the town of Santa Rosa, Peru
5. Ride approx 80 miles on day 3, still along highway 3S, and stop in Juliaca and stay in a hotel on this night..maybe.