Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Over 50 performance on keto

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 01-07-18, 11:47 PM
MikeOK
Yo

Bikes: 2003 Yeti AS-R, 2018 Waltly ti

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)

Hello all. I am 54 yo and I started riding again after about 15 years off the bike last winter. At first I just put slicks on my mtn bike and rode casually until June 9. Thatís when I got a good road bike and started riding seriously again. I went from about 10 miles / week (man I was fat and out of shape!), and now Iím up to an average of 120-140 miles / week. So far Iíve lost 62 lbís! But hereís my problem. When I was just starting I would only average a dismal 9 mph. As I starting riding more miles and losing weight my average quickly got over 13. However for the last couple months I havenít gained any at all, in fact I may be getting slower. The only thing Iíve changed is raise my mileage and I started eating keto November 1. Could that be whatís causing my progress to halt? In my 20ís and 30ís I had an average of 18+ mph so this is a little hard to swallow.
Old 01-08-18, 01:37 AM
Machka 
In Real Life

Bikes: Lots

Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Quoted: 2417 Post(s)
Originally Posted by MikeOK View Post
However for the last couple months I havenít gained any at all, in fact I may be getting slower. The only thing Iíve changed is raise my mileage and I started eating keto November 1. Could that be whatís causing my progress to halt?
Could be.

Try eating some carbs and see what happens.
Old 01-08-18, 02:54 AM
gregf83 

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)